LOVE ACROSS BBM II: MARTINS’ EXPERIENCE

woman-with-round-earring-72Adeolu C. Alupogun-Iran

Kindly read the previous episode before going ahead with this. Though, belated but it is better late than never.

___________________________________________________________

After the messy birthday of Tade, Yinka and Martins became drawn to each other. The duo frequently exchanged voice call for hours, they evolved well within four weeks and we were happy. At a point, Tade will always tease Martins of robbing him of his only true girlfriend. But, “I’m glad you guys are getting along well”. Throughout those periods, Martins hardly say two words without mentioning Yinka. Within the shortest period of time that Martins met Yinka via BBM, he had tall dreams and plan for her, and this to me was unusual. Most times in my conservative disposition I often told him to slow down, “you haven’t met this lady yet, there are more to what you see and say over the phone”. “I know where that’s coming from” he would always say.

I was in Abuja on a business trip when Bosun called to inform me Martins had serious preparation to visit Yinka in Port-Harcourt. I was quite fascinated and proud of such brave move. Though we all thought it should have been the other way round, 21st Century seems to have changed a whole lot of things. A day before the trip Martin came home earlier than usual. Before we could query him, he cleared all speculations. “My leave has been approved, now I can go spend time with my Butterfly”. The next day he was air bound.

Yinka was at the airport to receive him; she was obviously excited to see him at last. Within minutes, the lovebirds were locked in passionate embrace. “Welcome to Port-Harcourt Sweetheart”, she said disengaging. “It is good to see you finally butterfly”. “Look at you, those pictures on your Blackberry dp didn’t represent at all”. How do you mean? I mean you are more beautiful compared to your numerous pictures I have seen. “I am flattered dear, but I hope it is as true as it sounds”. She said moving towards a Black Honda CR-V 2010 Model. “Lovely car you have here!” “Thank you honeypie”.

The ride home was long and cold. Martin was visibly tired and needed sleep as a result of the flight, but he shoved the thought aside. Martin engaged her in various discussions, particularly politics and Yinka was a handful. Butterfly, “since you have proven your expertise in Nigerian politics, what do you make of the presidential race?” “You know handsome, OBJ is a schooled conman and the North should be weary of him”, she said. “My observation so far, though, different from the make believe analysis common in the dailies this day. I have shared it with some of my pals but they differed, so I kept quiet. The long and short of it is that Baba Iyabo is rooting for the minority to be the President of this country”.

“His choice of Y’ardua is a ruse. The gist is Y’ardua is suffering from a severe cancer that has kept him out of his duties most part of his tenure as Governor of Kastina State. He has a short time to live and Obasanjo knows. Again, the choice of Jonathan as a running mate is all part of the game. When Y’ardua dies, Jonathan becomes the president. The northern kingmaker knows this too, but they will be so shocked by the time OBJ is done with them. Even OBJ too will be cut up in the web of intrigues that will follow, you just watch events unfold”.

Martins was enthralled by her analysis and he was pleased; he said to himself, “I made a good choice after all”. Yinka’s voice brought him back, when she said welcome home Ololufemi. He didn’t recover from his soul journey on time, but he did just enough to get by and he said thank you dear.

She wheeled in the small Saint Laurel bag Martins came with and he found a comfortable spot on the couch. He was visibly engrossed by the elegance and sophisticated nature of her living room. He browsed from one art portrait to another in sheer admiration; he didn’t even notice Yinka was behind him. Rhetorically, he said “could this be a lady’s living room?” “It was designed by one of the best interior décor experts in town and all I did was to open my purse and watch”, she said. He was startled as if he just heard and saw a ghost. “Sorry I didn’t notice you were here, I was engrossed by what you have here. Please don’t mind my chauvinist jab” he quickly added. “No problem, you are not the first to lose it here. But I’m glad you like it. Table is set and lunch is ready”, she said, hopping on his back as they both moved towards the dinning table.

“In a long while Honey; I haven’t had pounded yam and this is sumptuous. You are such a good cook but I doubt if you are better than I am”. He left his seat to meet her, he pulled her up and he buried his lips in hers. Yinka didn’t resist, she welcome him with hot passion, they lasted for about five minutes and Martins carried her into his arms.  Yinka’s heart skipped, she thought he would head towards the bedroom, rather, he took her to the living room. He placed her carefully on the three-sitter couch, he kissed her with renowned warmth, caressed her neck, touched her soft lips with his index finger and he placed a hot kiss on her forehead. This time Yinka was ready for a showdown but Martins fought hard the temptation to probe further and he stopped though not swiftly. To cast out any embarrassing look, he made up by tickling her and she laughed until her ribs could not take it any more. Finally, she found her voice; “I didn’t know you are such a bad boy, Handsome. You got me panting endlessly”. “Where are we going tonight Butterfly?” Pretending as if he didn’t hear what she said. Also, he wanted to know if the coast is clear for his ‘royal treat’.

“Since I got wind of your visit, I have had my eyes on the Silverbird Cinemas’ Screen list. Expendables is going down this evening, would you like to see it?” “Yea, that would be great! Is good to have Stallone back on screen!” “Oh mine I’m a big fan” Yinka exclaimed! “I still have a CD of his movie with Sharon Stone, and also Rambo; both are pleasant delight to me. I would like to see those again”, Martins said. “Oh that reminds me, a long time boodie called just before I boarded this morning and he is right here in town. Would you like to say hello after the movie?” “Oh sure! In the main time Sweetheart, let me tidy up the kitchen while you get some quick nap”. “Like seriously, I needed to close my eyes”, he said while they kiss again.

“Have you ever fallen in love so badly, you will do anything to make him understand”-Brandy- was having it slow from the CD player of the car as they both drove towards the Presidential Hotel along the airport road. Martins had all the plans perfected without Yinka having the slightest hint of what was to come. There was a competition on who knows Brandy’s songs the most. Martins missed with ‘Long Distance’ intentionally to allow her have a feel of victory and most importantly to avoid any probing that will give him away. “Yes, I won and for daring to compete, here is your fine ‘GC Ladies Mother of Pearl white ceramic bracelet watch”. “You got it!”, Martins said trying to focus on the wheel.

They arrived at the Presidential Hotel. Martins got down and quickly got Yinka’s door, while a doorman waited to pack the car safely and another led the way. “Welcome Mr. Martins, how are you finding your stay in Port-Harcourt?”  “Very well thank you”. The VIP Lounge was well lighted in blue, red and green light all jostling to take their turn. A soft music filled the background. Beautiful hostesses were strategically positioned to be beckoned for any services. At the far end was a table for two and the only table available. Finally, Yinka broke lose of the spell. “I thought you said…” Martins placed his fingers on her lips. Quietly, he led her to the table and he shifted the chair for her to sit. Yinka was obviously caught in the web of surprises and she looked on in amazement.

“Butterfly, please discard my earlier information, there is no friend anywhere. It was all made up to get you here. This is my friends’ plan they insisted I give you a royal treat tonight. They planned and executed it, everything you see here is their handiwork.” “Really I’m lost. I have no clue; you swept me off my feet. It’s just that Tade is in soup for not telling about this when we spoke this evening.” They had a quiet dinner, both secretly admiring each other while ravishing their meal. “Sweetheart, excuse me I want to use the gent.”

The voice jolted her but Matins was nowhere close to the band. She looked around but gave up when she couldn’t find him. “Luther Vandross song is very dear to Yinka; you can sing her one of those on your visit”, Tade told him at the club. When Martins emerged with ‘Endless Love’, Yinka could not hold back anymore, she stood up with both hands clasped on her mouth. She requested for a microphone and they both sang together. It was a fulfilling night for the duo.

“Honey your phone is ringing”, Yinka called from the bedroom. “Okay let it ring Sweet, I’m on leave”, he said from the kitchen where he was fixing breakfast. Moments later she brought the device, it won’t stop ringing. It was his CMD; he collected the phone and dropped it on the cabinet. “Butterfly I’m on break, no disturbances!” Yinka begged him to pick and he agreed. The phone rang again and he answered. “Hello, Dr. Martins, we have been trying to reach you since yesterday, we have an emergency and we are due for an operation by 2pm I need all my good hands, please come in. “But sir, I’m not in town…”. “Don’t worry, I have had your flight booked and I will forward the reference code to you right away. Your flight is for 9:30am”. And the line went dead.

“Duty calls beautiful, I’m sorry. It is the oath I swore, I thought I had gotten away but no”. “I understand Handsome, let me worry about that, while you go have your bath. A while later, Yinka drove him to the airport; the flight was delayed till 12:30pm.

Few months after Martins visited he had the ‘GC Wristwatch’ delivered. Yinka could not believe it when she saw the package. “Oh my God! This costs £430, 000’ Martin why now?” She screamed and made the entire office panic. Her secretary with other staff rushed into her office, they were dead scared. “Ma’am, hope there’s no problem? We were startled by your scream”, her secretary managed to say. “All is well Helen, you all may return to your desk”. When they left, she screamed again; they all wanted to rush in again but decided against it. “Helen, when madam don calm down small tell am say make she go see her doctor, you hear me so”, one of them said. And they all laughed, moving towards their desk.

Yinka was crazily in love with Martins but there was nothing he could do about that, her fate was sealed. She was due to walk the aisle in two months. She had her introduction two weeks after Martins left PH. Yinka had been betrothed to the only son of the Philips since she was ten. Her parents had been on her neck to honour that agreement and save the family from eternal embarrassment. “Should I go ahead and accept this gift? Stephen will ask me where it came from. How do I explain that? If I didn’t accept it will blow my cover and Martins would ask questions? What will be the implication of my action? What do I do now?” These were the questions that played on Yinka’s mind as she sat glued to her chair behind her desk. She shrugged; “I will accept and damn the consequences”. She called Martins to say thank you.

We were all at the club one Saturday evening and I was wresting with several bottles of valentino as the rest punched on the baileys. That evening we expected Claire to be part of the groove but she wasn’t. I was a little startled when she called my phone. I was tempted to hand it over to Tade thinking she has difficulty reaching him on his line. Reluctantly, I answered the call. “Hello Pretty…” “Shola leave that for now” she cut in. “The information I’m about to give you will sadden your heart, perhaps shatter it but I know you are the only one with the wit to handle such terrible news”. I only managed to say ‘go on’ and she let out the bomb shell. By this time I was fifty meters away from our table. ‘”Yinka is getting married next weekend”, she said. “What! No…no…you are joking right?” “Did I joke with that yesterday or something? I’m telling you what I know for real. If you doubt me take your pals home now, you all should listen to NTA 9:00pm news tonight. It will be aired during one of the commercial breaks”. “Who is the groom?”, “I asked I’m not saying anymore go discover it yourself”.

I hurried back to the table, wearing my best make up smile. Tade was ranting about Claire’s abscence, I managed to put that off. “She’s probably fixed and couldn’t come; you know the nature of her work young man”, I told him. With a glance at my watch I said, “guys all roads lead to my apartment we have had enough this evening, anyone interested in liquid can continue when you get there”.

We were stepping into the compound when PHCN took power, they chorused, NEPA!. I saw Ibrahim walk briskly towards the generator house after he had firmly secured the gate. The news was already on as the HD machine came up. “Gentlemen let’s listen to the news tonight, I can see Bosun and Martins already scrambling for the cable remote”. “That serves the two of you right” Tade said. They both kicked but Tade and I didn’t listen. Ten minutes into the news, the announcement came, Yinka was to be married to the son of Oyo State Governor. According to the public announcement it was to take place at Ado-Ekiti, the country home of Yinka.

“No it is not possible maybe there is a mistake somewhere. It couldn’t have been my Yinka. I still spoke with her on my way here. Maybe they bear the same name”, Martins said. He picked his phone to call her but the line was switched off. Martins was losing it. He was sweating like an athletic soul who has just completed a marathon. The 2.5 horse power air condition and the standing fan in the living availed less. We gathered round him to provide additional fresh air with the dailies and other periodicals.  Bosun held him to prevent him from any irrational step. He said, “I want to drink hot water. Shola please I feel so cold within. Tade see where love across the bbm landed me ehn..! Ha that wedding will not hold! No, it would not hold! He wept like a baby denied of succor. Yinka ba ma ti se bayi si mi, he said. Bosun, I thought I have found love!”. He was completely shattered.  Our pain obviously is beyond letters. We nursed our pain together without the slightest clue on the next move.

 @deolu_369

Photo Credit: Google

About baldpen

Geniuses are born and could be made only through dint of diligence and hard-work. Some bards are sung while some are studied and some lived beyond their time. I want to be known for my lines...

Posted on July 15, 2013, in SHORT STORIES. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Amuda Bose Ibukun

    What a mystery

  2. Hellen Oladelee

    Interesting! Its a nice piece,keep d flag flying! I’ll advice that u dnt use real names of pple,u may quote events but change d names.God bless u…..waitin for d concludin part.

Leave a Reply

